I'm finally beginning to see a little shimmer of light at the end of the tunnel.
I seriously can't believe I'm almost finished with my third semester of college, though, let me tell you, its the most welcomed finish yet. This semester has literally all but killed me (which if you've talked to me for any stretch of time, you've got first hand proof). Please remind me to never load myself up this much again, though I probably won't listen. 19 hours is just too much on top of everything else I've got. I tell people I'm taking 17 hours next semester, but what they don't know is that means an easy semester. I've never been so glad to see finals week as I have this December. It means its almost over. It means I can stop pulling my hair out. It means I can have peace.
The three classes that have been the bane of my existence were (big surprise) Organic Chemistry, General Physics, and Cell Biology. So far, I got two finals down with two to go. I am officially done with Physics (at least until I get around to Physics 2) but I am done with Cell Biology for good. Don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed the class, and my professor was great. I just can't put my finger on a reason, but I'm not sad to see the end of that course. I'm coming out with a B, by the skin of my teeth. In the class, to make a B, one must have a total of 400 points. I'm squeaking out, by the grace of God and mercy of my professor, with 401.9 points. It wasn't easy, and it wasn't pretty, but its a B.
Physics was even uglier, but I could be looking at an A. I thought I would do pretty reasonable in this class, but I never would have thought the road would be this rocky. I did ok on the first test, but I was in a stupor as I looked at my second test grade online. There it was, glaring back at me. "22 out of 60" I'll save you some math, and tell you that comes out to a 37. I never imagined I would fail a test that badly. Ask anyone, I was a nervous wreck for at least a week after that. It was then that I realized I really needed to get my butt in gear. I managed a high B on the third test, and then our professor really showed us mercy. He gave us a fourth test, a take-home test, that would replace our lowest test grade. My 37 then became a 100. The final was yesterday, but I'm not positive on how well I did. An A is certainly within reach, but we'l see.
Organic Chem is just kind of there in my opinion. I should come out with a B, I'd have to bomb the final not to. I've put so much time into this class and lab, I just don't know what to do with myself. Lab reports I can't understand, homework that takes days on end to complete. Its awful, and a four week break isn't going to be long enough before we dive into Organic 2.
So much has been going on this semester, and I just can't wait to be able to simply turn my brain off for a while, though I won't be able to truly rest for a while when I get back. I come home Wednesday afternoon, I've got to go to the doctor on Thursday, an interview for Mission Serve on Friday (yay!), I'm working Alpine Village at church Saturday afternoon and Sunday, and then starting Monday morning I'm back at PDO for a week wrangling kids again. Only then will I be able to decide what I want to do for an entire day. If I want to stay in my pjs all day and watch movies, I can. If I want to go galavant around Memphis, I can. I just can't wait until Christmas.
Oh, Christmas. I can't even put into words how much I love Christmas. Christmas seems to be the one time of the year when its almost impossible to be in a bad mood. Who doesn't love Christmas, really? I love seeing houses all decorated and stores playing Christmas music. The music is the best, I've been playing it since Halloween. Christmas is seriously my favorite holiday. Ever.
4 days til freedom.
21 days til christmas.
27 days til 2011.
No comments:
Post a Comment