Its what I wish this semester would do. I wish it would just hurry up and slow down. I've been waiting to catch my breath this semester and I'm just getting quick gasps here and there. I've got so much to do in the next 6 weeks and I just don't know if I'm going to be able to get it done. I've grades to pull up (majorly), service hours to get, schedules to plan, meetings to go to, friends to see, laundry and cleaning to do, things to read, oh, and then there's that thing called "sleep". That's a myth, right? Ugh. I said it before and I'll say it again. College is getting in the way of college.
I seriously am freaking out about the next month and a half. Thats how long I have left. Within that time I'll hopefully find out if I got the position with Mission Serve (I wish they would hurry up and hurry up). I've been so nervous about that application and I sent it in over two months ago. I'm going to be beyond brokenhearted if I don't get this position, but I know there's a good chance I'm just setting myself up to be disappointed.
I know I sound like a freshman by saying this, but I just want to go home. I'm sick of this dorm room and I'm sick of cafeteria food. And physics. And organic. I love how, when I go home, all that just seems to disappear. It can't affect me while I'm home, wrapped in a blanket covered in dog fur, eating some mom-cooked food. But alas, I don't get to go home for a real visit probably until Thanksgiving. I'll be home for a night in a couple weeks, but I won't even be there for 24 hours, so it doesn't really count. I just need a few nights at home, but I'll just have to suck it up.
But at least I don't have to wait a month to see my family. Mom and Dad are coming down to Stark this weekend for the Phi Lamb family tailgate. I'd love for them to come to the game, but mom doesn't like football (why am I the only person in my family that gives a flying snot about sports?). But speaking of football:
Did I mention Mississippi State is #23 in the nation?
Did I mention we are bowl eligible??
seriously. We are 6-2 this season, 2-2 in the SEC. We. Beat. Florida. We are one of the 5 ranked SEC teams, and one of the 4 bowl eligible SEC teams, the other 3 being Alabama, Auburn, and LSU. People say that they find it hilarious that Florida lost to us, and when I asked why, they responded "Because MSU is horrible!" ummm... 'Scuse me? We are 6 and 2. The only two teams we have lost to are Auburn and Lsu who are 8-0 and 7-1, numbers 3 and 12 in the nation, respectively, but thats just because LSU dropped a million spots when they lost to Auburn. I'm not ashamed to say we lost to an undefeated team. We put up a fight.
Well, I'm off my MSU soapbox. I just can't stand when people don't know what they're talking about. People need to pay attention.
Hang on. Back on the soapbox. People. Ring responsibly. The SEC isn't playing around. They never were. This stuff is serious. I don't want to have to go through a metal detector to get in Davis Wade next year. Forget respect the bell, its time to save the bell. I plan on giving my children cowbells. It'd be nice if they had a place to ring it. Bells are meant to be rung inside Davis Wade stadium, not sit on a shelf in my dorm room collecting dust. We're already being fined from the Auburn and Georgia games. We have 2 home games left, both of which are conference games, so we need to get it together. It isn't that hard to set down your bell for 5 minutes and shake a pompom. And guys, I don't want to hear about pompoms being girly.
Real men respect the bell.
Ok, I think I can put the soapbox away now. People just frustrate me. There needs to be 30 hours in a day. That way, I might have time for everything. I just need Christmas break. Like, now.
"Good Grades; Social Life; Adequate Sleep. Pick Two.
Welcome to College."
No comments:
Post a Comment